Skip top navigation Skip to main content

Diane M. Donatio Writing Awards

Diane M. Donatio taught Writing and Communication courses at Lasell University for 11 years before she unexpectedly passed away in the summer of 2005. She was an exceptionally talented teacher who always wanted students to succeed.

Diane loved teaching all subjects but particularly Writing I and Writing II. She constantly encouraged students to do their best. And because of Diane’s belief in them, students in her sections wrote essays that they were extremely proud of. Students loved her classes, and were constantly trying to get into them even when they were full.

Through the generosity of Diane’s family and friends, the Diane M. Donatio Writing Awards are now given annually to outstanding essays written by students in Writing I and Writing II. Winners are selected by a committee of faculty and announced in a special session of the Lasell University Spring Connected Learning Symposium.

The 2023 Donatio Writing Award ceremony was held on April 28. The winners were:

  • First Prize: Esme Rivera
  • Second Prize: Grace Holden
  • Third Prize: Carson Kingsbury
  • Honorable Mention: Lindsey Hewitt

View past winners here