Skip top navigation Skip to main content

Braun Writing Awards

About the Braun Writing Award

The Ruth Paetz Braun Undergraduate Connected Learning Awards Program at Lasell University is made possible through the generous support of Ruth Paetz Braun, class of 1954, in honor of her 50th reunion from Lasell University. The purpose of this program is to support annual writing and/or oral presentation awards for undergraduate students in conjunction with the University's annual Connected Learning Symposium April of each year. $100 prizes are awarded for student writing assignments in the following categories:

  • A paper written for an assignment in a 100 level course
  • A paper written for an assignment in a 200 or 300 level course
  • A paper written for an assignment in a 400 level course
  • Creative Prose

The winners are selected by a committee of faculty and announced in a special session of the Lasell University Spring Connected Learning Symposium where they read short passages and describe the experience of writing their papers.

2024 Braun Writing Award Winners

100 Level

200 Level

300/400 Level (2 winners):

Creative Writing

  • Cecilya Wood, “Twin A” (ENG219: Creative Writing, Prof. Kevin Farrell)

Creative Nonfiction

  • Julia LaPlante, “Heirloom” (ENG307: Creative Nonfiction, Prof. Kevin Farrell)

View past winners here