Skip top navigation Skip to main content

Discover Lasell

Lasell University Celebrates 170th Commencement

May 13, 2024

President Eric Turner addresses Lasell 2024 graduatesGraduation caps of Lasell class of 2024 


This past weekend, graduating students, their friends and families gathered on Taylor Field to salute the Lasell University Class of 2024 and celebrate their hard work, camaraderie, and the beginning of new careers.

President Eric Turner presided over commencement on Friday, May 10th for more than 200 graduate and professional studies students, and on Saturday, May 11th for more than 300 undergraduates. This marked the first time President Turner oversaw graduation ceremonies since he was named president in July of 2023.

Gerry DeRoche, Chair, Board of Trustees and Dr. Chrystal D. Porter, Provost & Vice President of Academic Affairs joined President Turner during the conferral of degrees. Assistant Provost, Ken Calhoun, Assistant Provost, Nancy Waldron, Associate Professor, Janet Huetteman, and Sally Jean-Baptiste ’12, President of the Lasell University Alumni Association all participated in commencement exercises.

Faculty Marshall, Brian Frasier, Associate Professor of Mathematics led the procession onto Taylor Field while Rabbi Herman J. Blumberg— a resident of Lasell Village— offered an invocation and words of gratitude at the start of the program and a benediction and words of hope at the conclusion of graduation ceremonies.

This year the University awarded honorary doctorates to two distinguished members of the Massachusetts community who served as keynote speakers. Treasurer Deborah Goldberg spoke at undergraduate ceremonies while bestselling author and educator Andre Dubus III addressed graduate students.

Bekah Elisabeth Belle, who was awarded a Master of Science in Human Resources, delivered remarks as the graduate student speaker, while the undergraduate student address was presented by Joseph Vincent LaFiura II, who earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Communication.

During Saturday's ceremonies, The Thomas E.J. de Witt Awards for Excellence in Educational Leadership was granted to long time faculty member Linda Bucci and Assistant Vice President of University Advancement, Carrie Weatherbee.

For more photos from Commencement, view our graduate and undergraduate ceremony albums courtesy of John Gillooly/PEI