Skip top navigation Skip to main content

Discover Lasell

Lasell Community Media Stations Take Home Top Honors

April 28, 2022

WLAS and LCTV members at the Lasell awards banquet

Lasell’s two campus media stations, WLAS and Lasell Community Television (LCTV) won two first-place trophies and set a new record for nominations — 19 total finalist nods — at the Intercollegiate Broadcasting System (IBS) annual media awards.  

LCTV show “Between Two Torches,” hosted by Ellie Barrows ’22, was named Best Talk Program. Juliana DeMuro ’22 was named Best College News Director, Television. 

Student leaders at WLAS, Lasell’s radio station, and LCTV were named finalists in 17 additional categories, including social media; station promotion; variety, comedy, sports, PSA/commercial, and news programming; and show programming. LCTV was nominated for Best College/University TV Station, Taylor Viles ’22 was nominated for Best Station Manager, Television, and Barrows was nominated for Best Program Director, Radio. Dr Brian Wardyga, professor of communication and advisor to both WLAS and LCTV, was nominated for Best Faculty Advisor, Television (one of two categories he won last year). 

“WLAS and LCTV have been consistently recognized as top collegiate stations in the country, and this year is no different,” says Wardyga. “The latest set of IBS awards and nominations reflect the high quality of work produced by our students.” 

On campus, LCTV garnered an additional award at the annual Student Awards Banquet, winning Student Organization of the Year. 

Lasell University's School of Communication and the Arts prepares students for careers in entertainment media, graphic design, journalism, public relations, sport communications, and radio and video production. Students have completed internships and secured full-time jobs at organizations including The Boston Globe, GateHouse Media, NESN, Dunkin’ Brands, and 98.5 The Sports Hub.