Skip top navigation Skip to main content

Discover Lasell

End of Year Honors

May 31, 2022

Lasell University students were honored with leadership, academic, and athletic awards at the conclusion of the spring semester.

Lasell students at the annual OSAO awards banquet

The Office of Student Activities and Orientation (OSAO) hosted its annual leadership awards banquet in April. Josefyne Santiago ’22 was honored with the Leadership in Equity and Inclusion Award and Student Leader of the Year Award in recognition of their demonstrated advancement of an inclusive and social just community, as well as their outstanding commitment and involvement in student organizations. Emmanuella Brempong ’22 received the Commitment to Service Award in recognition of their work to promote a more just and equitable society and in creating opportunities for peers to work toward the common good.

Anna King ’22 was honored with the Lasell Chair, which is given to a graduating student as an acknowledgement of an extraordinary record of accomplishment and contribution to the campus community. Ten graduating students received a Lasell Bowl in acknowledgement of their distinguished and noteworthy contributions to campus life: Maggie Clukey ’22, Colleen Egan ’22, Sophia Gadsden ’22, Melaney Jenkins ’22, Rachel McGrillen ’22, Nicholas Shelley ’22, Haley Sherman ’22, Elise Stanbury ’22, Taylor Viles ’22, and Sarah Votto ’22. Devin Zambruno ’22 was honored with the inaugural Anne Doyle Book Award in honor of their collaborative work with Lasell Village residents.

Assistant Professor of Justice Studies and Deputy Title IX Coordinator Karin Raye was given the Dr. Thomas E.J. de Witt Spirit Award, and Donnell Turner, director of the Center for Career Readiness and Internship Programs, was honored as this year’s Lamp yearbook dedicatee. Lasell Community Television (LCTV) was named Student Organization of the Year.

In early May, Lasell Athletics held its annual awards banquet in recognition of six graduating athletes. EJ Day ’22 (men’s basketball) and Korynne Provenzano ’21 G’22 (women’s soccer) earned Athlete of the Year awards, presented to two athletes who have made a significant impact on the success of their team and have been recognized by the conference, regional, or national body for athletic excellence. Jordan Hines ’22 (men’s lacrosse) and Kelsey Scannevin ’22 (softball) were named Scholar-Athletes of the Year, and Kevin Vanderhorst ’21 G’22 (men’s basketball) and Elise Stanbury ’22 (women’s track and field) were bestowed with the Torchbearer Awards, presented to two athletes in their final season of eligibility who have excelled in their sport, in the classroom, and in making a positive impact on their team and the Lasell community. 

On Friday, May 13, undergraduate students in each major were presented with Academic Book Awards in recognition of their demonstrated commitment to excellence. Book Award recipients are selected by faculty for serving as models for fellow students in professional demeanor, academic achievement, maturity, perseverance, and collegiality. The following Class of 2022 graduates received Book Awards:

Marie Zampano (accounting), Lily Iannillo (business management), David Burke (entrepreneurship), Anna Wall (event management), Matthew Bischof (finance), Kaitlyn Hennessy (hospitality management), Jessica Chabre (marketing), Raymond Bruno (sport management), Taylor Viles (communication), Anna King (graphic design), Lilly Hoeniger (fashion communication and promotion), Elise Stanbury (fashion design and production), Madison Cormier (fashion and retail merchandising), Gillian Long (athletic training), Natalia Essigmann (biology), Alexandria Lorenzo (cybersecurity), Bo Moore (data analytics), Kelsey Scannevin (exercise science), Sandra Caitlin-Louise Brown (forensic science), Angela Reyes-Gomez (health science), Sabrina Crispim (criminal justice), Gabriella Bertoldi (early childhood education), Grace West (elementary education), Colleen Egan (English), Ethan Sargent (global studies), Elliott Battaglia (history), Emily Anderson (interdisciplinary studies with curriculum and instruction), Kylie Di Maro (law and public affairs), Juliana Denning (legal studies), Emily Nash (psychology), Julia Resener (sociology)