Skip top navigation Skip to main content

Discover Lasell

Lasers Recognized for Community Commitment and Leadership

May 01, 2023

Student leaders, staff, and faculty at the annual leadership awards banquet

Lasell University's annual Student Leadership Awards Banquet recognized students, faculty, and staff who have had a significant impact on the Lasell community. At the April 2023 ceremony, new SGA leadership was introduced and award winners were acknowledged. 

The 2023-2024 student government executive board includes:
President: Arielle Hornbaker '24
VP, Academic Affairs: Trevor Lopinsky '24
VP, Student Affairs: Sarah Mendes '25
VP, Financial Affairs: Marino Kozaka '25
VP, Communication Affairs: Caitlin Orsino '24
VP, Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion: Alexa Pagán '24
Senior Class (2024) President: Mekenzie Barbosa '24

The Office of Student Activities and Orientation celebrated the Black Student Association (BSA), which was named the Student Organization of the Year. BSA is one of Lasell's newest organizations, founded just last year. 

Chloe McGoldrick '23 received the Anne Doyle Book Award in honor of their leadership and collaboration with Lasell Village residents. Gabrielle Emerson '23 received the Commitment to Service Award for their efforts to advance social responsibility and civic engagement at the University. Oliver Pruett-Reed '23 received the Leadership in Equity Award for their demonstration of exemplary leadership in fostering an equitable and socially just community, and Beverly Banks '23 was named the Michael B. Alexander Student Leader of the Year for their outstanding campus leadership and commitment to balancing involvement and academic excellence. 

Nine students received a Lasell Bowl in recognition of their noteworthy contributions to campus life: Samari Auguste '23, Anthony Berry '23, Emily Casella '23, Sophia Couto '23, Spencer Fulone '23, Celeste Hunter-Pines '23, Michael Maruk '23, Michael Palumbo '23, and Victoria Savluk '23. Michael Woo, current SGA president, was honored with the Lasell Chair in acknowledgement of their extraordinary record of accomplishment and contributions to the Lasell community. 

The University's annual athletic awards, academic book awards, and other accolades will be announced in the days leading up to Commencement.