Skip top navigation

Tuition and Aid


Higher Education Emergency Relief Funds - HEERF

The Higher Educational Emergency Relief Fund, or HEERF, was created by the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, & Economic Security (CARES) Act in spring 2020. Additional funds were allocated to HEERF as authorized by the Coronavirus Response & Relief Supplemental Appropriations Act of 2021,(CRRSA) and the American Rescue Plan Act of 2021 (ARP).

On December 27, 2020, the President signed the Coronavirus Response and Relief
Supplemental Appropriations Act, 2021 (CRRSAA) (P.L. 116-260). This new law gives the
U.S. Department of Education (Department) approximately $22.7 billion to distribute to
institutions of higher education in order to prevent, prepare for, and respond to coronavirus
through the HEERF.

Notably, similar to CARES, the CRRSAA includes no student eligibility requirements, however, institutions are required to prioritize grants to students with exceptional financial need, such as those who receive Pell Grants. 

Because HEERF funds have been allocated in separate phases, the funds distributed for student and institutional support in spring 2020 are referred to as CARES or HEERF Phase I and those distributed in spring 2021 are referred to as HEERF Phase II of CRRSA.

Lasell University received $823,971.00 from the Department of Education [for] Emergency Financial Aid Grants to Students. 

As of April 9, 2021 Lasell University awarded $774,236 to 969 students. 

What is the CARES Act?

The CARES Act is federal legislation that provides a variety of financial support to individuals and businesses affected by the COVID-19 pandemic. The CARES Act established and funded the Higher Education Emergency Relief Fund (HEERF) to provide emergency financial aid grants. One part of this federal program allocates money to Lasell University, and a portion of that allocation can be awarded to students who are experiencing expenses due to the coronavirus and the disruption to the semester.