Lasell Student Writers Awarded Annual Braun/Donatio Honors

Lasell Student Writers Awarded Annual Braun/Donatio Honors

May 01, 2014

Some of Lasell's top student writers were rewarded for their creativity and hard work this week when they received the annual Braun and Donatio Writing Awards.

The Braun Writing Awards are given each year in conjunction with the Connected Learning Symposium through the support of Ruth Paetz Braun '54 in honor of her 50th reunion. The Donatio Writing Awards are given annually to first-year student writers to honor former Lasell Professor Diane Donatio. Those submissions are published in a volume titled Fresh Thoughts.

This year's winners of the Braun Writing awards were: Ai Harimoto for her literary analysis of Franz Kafka's Metamorphosis in a 100 Level course; Kayla Dougherty for her reflections on the role of women in Middle Eastern cultures as reflected in literature (200/300 level course); Solange Carpenter for her writing about four years of growth at Lasell (400 level course); and Katherine Davis for her Creative Prose submission related to a child's relationship with her grandparents.

The top recipients of the Donatio awards were: Jason Boyne - First Prize, for The True Story of the War in Afghanistan; Danielle Lavender took second prize for her essay Meghan, written about the loss of a friend who commits suicide; Courtney Weaver won third prize, for her paper Outsourcing's Impact on the United States. Honorable mention included Levi Flood, Emily Harbor and Eva Katana.