Lasell College Wins Massachusetts Campus Compact Presidents’ Service Award


Lasell College Wins Massachusetts Campus Compact Presidents’ Service Award

April 13, 2011

Lasell College has won this year's Massachusetts Campus Compact Presidents' Community Partnership Award, honoring the College's work with local non-profit The Second Step.

The award recognizes the innovative work of MACC members in partnership with a local school or non-profit organization to the benefit of a Massachusetts community. The Second Step (TSS) in Newton provides an array of services for families transitioning away from abuse.

The award was presented to Lasell officials on April 12 and carries with it a $5,000 prize for each of the two winning programs. MIT was also honored.

"This award is testimonial to a wonderful 10 years of rich service-learning projects with The Second Step. It also represents Lasell College's dual educational emphasis on relevant, project-focused learning and the development of dispositions toward the welfare of others. It also celebrates the critical work of The Second Step in its support for and empowerment of survivors of domestic violence," said Jim Ostrow, Vice President for Academic Affairs at Lasell.

Lasell's submission for its work with The Second Step (TSS) in Newton highlighted the many services for families who are survivors of domestic abuse and Lasell's support of those services.

Lasell's 10-year partnership has included: courses at Lasell taught by TSS staff, including including an honors seminar team-taught with the Vice President of Academic Affairs; a long-term co-created children's mentoring program in which Lasell students monthly mentor TSS children at Lasell; Lasell courses embedded with service-learning projects such as donation drives, special events fundraisers and development of public relations materials to benefit TSS; ongoing volunteering by Lasell's Vice President for Academic Affairs in the TSS after-school program and TSS Board membership; Lasell student internships at TSS; and a Lasell Justice Studies Advisory Board membership by a TSS staff member.

"It has been such a pleasure to work alongside The Second Step all these years. They have been enormously flexible and creative in their approach to co-creating opportunities that have been so meaningful for our students, and, at the same time, beneficial to the organization," said Sharyn Lowenstein, Director of Lasell's Center for Community-Based Learning.

Other finalists for the award include Holy Cross, MIT, Springfield College and Tufts University.

Massachusetts Campus Compact (MACC) is a nonprofit coalition of 70 college and university presidents committed to developing the civic skills of students, building partnerships with the community, and integrating civic engagement with teaching and research.