Skip top navigation Skip to main content

Discover Lasell

Commencement 2022

May 16, 2022

Undergraduate students at 2022 Lasell commencement

The Lasell University community honored nearly 600 members of the Class of 2022 this weekend at its 168th annual Commencement ceremonies.

Ryan Tillery, 2022 graduate student commencement speaker
Ryan Tillery '21 G'22, graduate student speaker

Both graduate student speaker Ryan Tillery ’21 G’22, recipient of a Master of Business Administration (MBA) degree, and undergraduate student speaker Gabriella Bertoldi ’22, recipient of a bachelor’s degree in early childhood education, reflected on their Lasell experiences and acknowledged their fellow students’ grit, perseverance, allegiance to one another, and commitment to their communities.

Gabriella Bertoldi, undergraduate student speaker at 2022 commencement
Gabriella Bertoldi '22, undergraduate student speaker

At Saturday’s ceremony, two Lasell community members were recognized with the Thomas E.J. de Witt Award for Excellence in Educational Leadership, which is awarded annually to a faculty and staff member, respectively, at Commencement.

Associate Professor of Journalism Marie Franklin receives the Thomas E.J. de Witt Award at 2022 Commencement
Associate Professor Marie Franklin (left), de Witt Award recipient

Associate Professor of Journalism Marie Franklin was honored for her 14-year tenure as a dedicated teacher and mentor, 1851 Chronicle advisor, and valued colleague.

Byrd Hughes, Associate Director of Lasell's Center for Community-Based Learning (CCBL) receives the de Witt Award at 2022 Commencement
Associate Director of the CCBL Byrd Hughes (left), de Witt Award recipient

Associate Director of the Center for Community-Based Learning (CCBL) Tiesha “Byrd” Hughes received the staff award in recognition of her extraordinary record of achievement, innovation, and leadership, as well as her unwavering commitment to social and restorative justice, community, and engagement.

Razia Jan, honorary degree recipient and keynote speaker at 2022 commencement
Keynote speaker and honorary degree recipient Razia Jan

Keynote speaker Razia Jan, an award-winning humanitarian, social innovator, change agent, and tireless advocate, received an honorary doctorate of humane letters. Founded in 2007, her namesake organization Razia’s Ray of Hope Foundation provides girls and young women in her native Afghanistan with safe educational environments that include midwifery certification programs, medical services, English-language and computer literacy programs, and more. Jan addressed graduates at both ceremonies. 

Lasell University grads at 2022 Commencement