Skip top navigation Skip to main content

Discover Lasell

Lead the Way, Lasers

May 01, 2020

Students, faculty, and clubs were honored at the Annual Awards Banquet, hosted by the Office of Student Activities and Orientation (OSAO), for exemplary leadership and service at Lasell University.

"The OSAO thought it was very important to still gather to celebrate and be present together via Zoom to recognize an amazing year," said Jennifer L. Granger Sullivan, director of OSAO.

More than 100 attendees joined to watch student Leaders, members of the OSAO, and AVP/Dean of Student Affairs, Dave Hennessey, introduce award winners through reflections on their accomplishments and contributions to the Lasell community.

Student Leader of the Year Matthew Berentsen '20SGA de Witt Spirit Award Winner Cecelia Costa '20 

Matthew Berentsen '20 was named Student Leader of the Year for his work with WLAS. The award acknowledges a student's demonstration of outstanding overall leadership, commitment, ability to motivate others, effort to improve their student organization, and commitment to a balance of extracurricular involvement and academic excellence.

Cecelia Costa '20 received the Student Government Association's Thomas E.J. de Witt Spirit Award. SGA also acknowledged its incoming officers for the 2020-2021 academic year: Oliva Tata '21 (President); Amanda Hawkes '21 (VP for Academic Affairs); Xavier Fort '21 (VP for Student Affairs); and Kaylie Silva '23 (VP for Financial Affairs).

Lasell Bowl Winner Allie Clancy '20Lasell Bowl Winner Betty Song '20Lasell Bowl Winner Massimo Cugno '20 Lasell Bowl Winner Katie Jones '20 Lasell Bowl Winner Ana Seiler '20 Lasell Bowl Winner Vanessa Rose 

Lasell Bowl Winner Rosa del Carmen GomezLasell Bowl Winner Jessica Spillane '20Lasell Bowl Winner Emma Helstrom '20

Nine students received the Lasell Bowl, an award given to students who have distinguished themselves as contributors to the life of campus in especially noteworthy ways. This year's winners are seniors Alexandra Clancy, Annamarie Seiler, Betty Song, Emma Helstrom, Jessica Spillane, Katie Jones, Massimo Cugno, Rosa del Carmen Gomez, and Vanessa Rose.

Lasell Chair Winner Kate Kennedy '20Lasell Chair Winner James Kappatos '20  

The Lasell Chair is given to a graduating student as an acknowledgement of extraordinary record of accomplishment and contribution, as evidenced in the quality of their service and participation, and in the cumulative positive impact that their presence has had at Lasell University. Seniors Jimmy Kappatos and Kate Kennedy were named this year's Lasell Chairs.

Student Organization of the Year - LU PRIDEJesse Tauriac 2020 Yearbook Dedication

The virtual ceremony also recognized the Student Organization of the Year, LU PRIDE, for its growth and development on campus throughout the year. Jesse Tauriac, AVP and Chief Diversity Officer, was recognized for his leadership on campus in this year's yearbook dedication.

Award nominations are reviewed by an on-campus committee reflective of all aspects of campus life, including academics, athletics, community service, residential life, and diversity and inclusion efforts.