Featured Article

A Remarkable Legacy: The Class of 1949

Transforming a Campus

On the eve of the 65th Lasell reunion, the Class of 1949 remains the most philanthropic class in the College's history. Their remarkably legacy-and the impact of their extraordinary generosity-is showcased on these next pages. That generosity has inspired and underwritten bold innovation, enriched academic offerings and literally transformed the campus.

The Class of 1949's collective commitment to education continues to resonate on campus every day. Classmates Joan Weiler Arnow, Nancy Lawson Donahue, Diane Heath Beever, Kathryn Poore Hamel, Nancy Curtis Grellier, Jean Sargent Lee, Diane Palady Barry, Joyce Brandt Francis, John L. and Jewel Ward Ganger, Jane Wadhams Hazen, Janet White MacLure, Sarah Taylor Murray and Carolyn Clark Thomas remained loyal and generous alumni throughout their lives.

"The Class of 1949 has distinguished itself time and again," President Michael B. Alexander says. "Not all of them are with us today, but their generosity of spirit lives on."

Past Issues