Residential Living

Traditional Residence Halls – traditional residence halls offer a wonderful environment in which students can learn about the campus, get to know many other students, and share the residential living experience with their peers.  Traditional residence halls consist primarily of double and triple rooms, with a limited number of singles and quads, and most students living in traditional residence halls will make use of shared, common bathrooms (that are specifically designated for either males or females ).  Most first-year students will be assigned to traditional residence halls.  

Contemporary Residence Halls – contemporary residence halls consist of quads, made up of two double rooms connected by a bathroom shared by the four residents.

Suite-Style Residence Hall – suite-style residence halls consist of two or four bedrooms, along with a common living area, a small kitchenette, and one or two bathrooms.

Change of Residence Room

Definition of Residency

Housing Options

Quiet Study - Students choosing to live in quiet/study housing agree to maintain a quiet environment conducive to studying.  24-hour quiet hours will be in effect between 7 p.m. on Sunday and 4 p.m. on Friday.  Weekends will have a combination of quiet and courtesy hours.  Quiet hours are those times when there will be no unreasonable noise.  Courtesy hours are those times when excessive noise will not be allowed.  At the time of this writing, the Quiet Study buildings for 2015-16 include: Mott House and Ordway House.  

Wellness – Students choosing to live in the wellness house are committed to a healthy life style that will focus on balanced living in a variety of areas, including:  nutrition, exercise, healthy relationships, and living substance-free.  All students living in this community agree to refrain from the use of substances such as alcohol, tobacco products or other illicit drugs, at all times (in and out of the residence), and students will agree not to return to the community under the influence of alcohol or drugs.  Guests in the house must abide by all community rules.  Depending upon the interests of the residents, programming may include:  presentations on the mind-body connection, yoga and exercise, stress reduction, and spirituality.  Briggs House is the designated location for wellness housing.

Community Service – Students choosing to live in the community service house agree to abide by the additional guidelines established by the Center for Community-Based Learning.  Keever House is the designated community service house.

Coeducational Housing – Students assigned to coeducational housing will live in a community of female and male students.  Residential buildings will be coed either by wing, floor, quad or suite.  All bathrooms are designated for either male or female use.  At the time of this writing, coeducational buildings include:  Arnow Campus Center, Bragdon Hall, Briggs House, Butterworth Hall, Chandler House, Cushing House, East Hall, Forest Hall, Haskell House, Hoag House, Holt Hall, Karandon House, Keever House, McClelland Hall, Mott House, North Hall, Pickard House, Rockwell Hall, Spence House, West Hall, and Woodland Hall. 

All-Female Housing - Students assigned to all-female housing must accompany their male guests at all times.  At the time of this writing all-female buildings include:  Carpenter House, Case House, Gardner House, Hoag House, Saunders House, and Van Winkle Hall.

Gender Neutral: Gender neutral housing is a living environment where student housing is not limited to one gender. This housing choice provides options for transgender students in the process of discovering their gender identity; gay or bisexual students; students who feel uncomfortable rooming with members of the same sex; intersexed students who do not wish to be identified by any gender; and students who feel they would be more compatible with a roommate of a different gender. Gender neutral housing helps to create an environment that acknowledges, appreciates, and respects the diverse nature of the student body at Lasell College.  Gender neutral housing is available on the first floor of East Hall.

"Dry" Buildings – Students residing in "dry" buildings are not permitted to be in possession of alcoholic beverages or empty alcohol containers.  This guideline is applied equally to all residents of a "dry" building, regardless of the age of the student, and also applies to all students visiting these buildings.  At the time of this writing, "dry" buildings include:  Briggs House, Carpenter House, East Hall, Gardner House, Holt Hall, McClelland Hall, Mott House, North Hall, Ordway House, Rockwell Hall, Van Winkle Hall, West Hall, and Woodland Hall.  

Housing During Break Periods

Policies and Procedures

Room Occupancy

Room Selection for Returning Students

Roommate Relationship

Senior Week Note